Home Unity

Particle Tutorials

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
Torch interpolator
Not sure if this is the right place to add this thread, but wanted to know if anyone knew of any good sites or resources for learning about Shuriken? I've seen a few tutorials online but they seem fairly basic and would like to know how to create more advanced particle simulations (e.g. RyanB's particles in this link - http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=90915 ) Thanks :)

Replies

• Elyaradine
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Elyaradine polycounter lvl 11
    I've never seen any shuriken tutorials, but I truly think it's quite simple to use.

I'm no expert, but in my limited experience creating vfx for our games, I feel that pretty much everything in realtime vfx ends up being a combination of:

- a particle system,
    - a shader,
    - (and, similarly, the textures that get plugged into the shader; flipbook textures maybe)
    - and/or a custom mesh (could be static build in your 3D app, or could be built by some custom code, like for blade trails or something).

There generally is no other special knowledge, and what it ends up coming down to is how you combine these in an appealing way. Kind of like digital painting; the tools may be quite basic, but the way the tools are combined and used make beautiful or crappy work.

One useful way to learn is to screen capture games that have great vfx work (the higher the frame rate that you can capture the better), and go through the video in slow motion to break down the different layers of what's going on, and see how they're combined. I remember there being some DotA2 videos going around a little while ago of gameplay videos that were captured at 1,000 fps that were pretty cool to see.

Some things you may want to look at in particular include:
    - whether something is a flipbook texture (why would they have chosen a flipbook? Did they render out the frames at a particular angle?)