Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Fantasy Island [WIP]

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Lord Waffles polycounter lvl 10
Currently working on a fantasy scene, and when I say fantasy I mean really out there with complete disregard to if it's actually possible.

I haven't been modeling for very long so i'm not that great which is why i'm here, for feedback!
The scene i'm going for is like a small island which has been infested by a large tree which ends up being this humanoid fisherman's house (so original I know). I have this walrus guy that I started to sculpt which i'll probably post anyway, but seeing as i've never sculpted a character before and I have yet to find the time to read this anatomy book...he really isn't the special, which is where you guys might be able to tell me whats missing.
THE TLDR SECTION: I'm new to modeling and decided to make a fantasy island scene using no main reference for inspiration and I would like your feedback.

Lastest Update:
So I just finished the "island" and it turned out like garbage lol.

I really don't know how to go about doing this one, but i'll have to try again. The cliff sculpt came out pretty decent.

Cliffs.png

however the low poly cliffs were okay after the bake, however I rushed the grass since I didn't know really how to go about sculpting/modeling grass or the top of a cliff. Here is the terrible low poly.

Lowpoly.PNG

I guess the next plan is to re-sculpt the cliffs and try to make grass overhang? Not sure how i'll be able to do that, I guess I might look into the possibility of Zbrush fibers. Any other tips, tricks, or suggestions are much welcome!

Replies

• Lord Waffles
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I just finished a pretty quick sculpt on a fantasy lamp post. I pretty much took a street lamp and made it into a fantasy medieval lamp post, because fantasy is usually more fun to look at.

Fantasy_Light_Pole.jpg
  • Lord Waffles
    Options
    Offline / Send Message