Home Technical Talk

Videogame Topology

So I am making a character for a xblig game and im pretty new to all of this game art stuff.

I have this character ready to get texture and normal mapped but am wondering how to lower my polycount and mix the clothing (Subtools) to my character so i dont have extra quads.
jEUXp.jpg

My pants are and shirt are pretty high
zUMkk.jpg
pants 99k
shirt 66k
and body 2,650

And i did try merging all my subtools and doing autop in 3dcoat
though... it didnt turnout
97OiY.jpg

What should I do to get this guy at low polycount?

Remake shirt and pants from original low poly mesh and cut out the areas hidden by the shirt and pants?

Retopogize over a merged tool?

Replies

• Add3r
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Add3r polycounter lvl 11
    You have 3D coat, yet did auto-topo? lol Kidding aside, dont ever do auto topo in any program if you want clean work. Since you have 3D coat already, use some of the amazing tools it has for re-topo! I would research basic character topology guides and studies to get an idea where you should be adding extra cuts for animation as well as clean edge loops for UVs and to remove texture stretch when baking down, etc. I use zbrush for sculpting HP, do a basic decimate to get a reasonable "LP/HP", create the low poly and cage in Maya/Max and/or create the LP in 3D coat, and then bake in Xnormal. I then use photoshop and other texturing tools to do micro cleanup of bakes, adjustments, and then texture, with the maps I get from Xnormal, etc.
  • iZac
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Add3r wrote: »
    I use zbrush for sculpting HP, do a basic decimate to get a reasonable "LP/HP", create the low poly and cage in Maya/Max and/or create the LP in 3D coat, and then bake in Xnormal. I then use photoshop and other texturing tools to do micro cleanup of bakes, adjustments, and then texture, with the maps I get from Xnormal, etc.