Home Unreal Engine

Complex room - main walls in bsp or part of the static mesh

SuperDuty455
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
SuperDuty455 polycounter lvl 6
Hello everyone,

I've started using UDK for a few days and I'm planning to make a little personal mod based on the Resident Evil mansion (yeah I've seen that quite a few times too :) ). I had started it in Source but I felt too limited by the rather poor implementation of models into it.
At the moment I'm still learning the functionalities of UDK. The Unreal engine isn't quite new for me since I used it back in the days of UT99, so I have a basic understanding of it but there's some new stuff in that UDK :poly124:

Anyways, I've modeled the hall, there's about 80% done, it still needs texturing and a lot of detailing. I did try to import it into UDK and it worked properly, just no texture or collision, so poor lightmaps and I could run through the models.

The question is, should I make the main walls in BSP or can I make them part of the models ? I'd prefer them to be part of the models so I have a better control of them.

Preview of the WIP

mansion_02_zps1cd874d2.png
mansion_01_zps8cd354bf.png

As it sits right now, I'm close to 64.000 tris on one half. That's gonna make around 150.000 tris finished with the details remaining.

Replies

• Angry Beaver
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Angry Beaver polycounter lvl 7
    As a source vet I'm intrigued by the comment "I felt too limited by the rather poor implementation of models into it" care to explain?

Overall with UDK there's no reason to use a BSP except for the fact you didn't feel like using a model. With Source there's a lot more pro/con evaluation but the optimization is a lot easier to control and influence. UDK just does its magic and you pray it does it right.
  • SuperDuty455
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SuperDuty455 polycounter lvl 6
    Thanks for the tip, I'll stick with "all in the static mesh".