Home Technical Talk

Environment Texturing

:) Hi there. Im very new to modeling and this forum too. Have been lurking for a while though.

Im currently trying to design a 'damaged' engine/electrical blah room for no purpose at the moment, and have no idea to go about texturing it. Ive read various texturing tutorials but still seem stuck on UVW wrapping on 'whole' objects. Hope this made sense. There is probably tons of mesh mistakes aswell but im learning, feedback would great though.

Basically im asking what would be the correct step for this model?

Really appreciate any help!

Images;

Ortho2.png
Ortho1.png

Replies

• Chase
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Chase polycounter lvl 9
    I'm in the middle of this process as well. There are so many ways to texture its insane. You could unwrap individual pieces and texture them based on their uvs, use tiling textures and throw some decals over to break the repitition. Or maybe you want to have repeated meshes in another boiler room so then you can apply a multi sub object in Max. That way you can apply various textures but like I said that's if you want to reuse the room or certain parts of the room in another way. I'll post a few links to help demonstrate what I mean later tonight. Those are the methods that come to mind for me. Hope that helps ya
  • snitchdnb21
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Chase wrote: »