Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Realtime VFX Demo Reel

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
The Vman polycounter lvl 3
Hi everyone! First time posting, though I've been lurking around for a while. I'm an aspiring FX artist, and I recently got offered an internship at Airtight Games, so I put together a demo reel of some of the work I've done in the Source Engine (I would have liked to include some Cryengine work, but I wasn't able to get the engine preview window to go fullscreen in the SDK. If anyone knows how I'd really appreciate it!)

DEMO REEL:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FTDzwr-nvmc&feature=youtu.be

I'd like some critique on my work, especially if you're familiar with particle effects, but even if you aren't that shouldn't stop you from seeing anything that you might think needs changing.

Also, if anybody has any tips for when you're making a demo reel that'd be appreciated too!

EDIT:

Updated the reel, taking everyone's comments into mind:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9JkLFg8r1cg

Replies

• urgaffel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    urgaffel polycounter lvl 17
    You got some really nice effects in there. Best presentation/breakdown for a vfx reel I've seen so far is http://vimeo.com/43731949 (he works here now :))

I'm sorry I can't give you any better critique at the moment, at work so time is limited. I'll pass this thread around though, hopefully others can give you some feedback.
  • Lee3dee
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lee3dee polycounter lvl 18
    Hey Valdis,

Just watched your FX reel, awesome stuff!

a few thoughts,

* Your TF2 fx are by far the strongest IMO. I think they should go in the beginning of the reel. Start the reel with the sentry gun fx and end it with the bomb cart for example. Cut up everything else into short clips.