Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Asian Apothecary Shop [WIP/Maya/UDK]

Hi everyone, here is a development thread on my first ever modular environment that I'm making for one of my briefs at uni. Just a heads up, I'm quite new at 3d modelling and was introduced to it only back in January, so I'm not great with technical talk yet and a bit nervous, although I'm learning as fast as I can. :)

Down to business - I chose to make an asian apothecary shop as a modenv, mostly because I felt comfortable doing something interior for my first environment. Had to sketch out a couple of concepts first before diving into modelling, will put them up here for all to see (developing the bottom one now):

chinese_apothecary_shop_concepts_by_spikings-d5k8zn5.png

I want to create a dim and musty, old atmosphere, and I need at least 50% of my assets to be reused, so I'm clogging up the room with medicine bottles, boxes and the like. I have 15,000 tris to play with and 1024 x 1024 textures. I've never done normal maps before, but I want to give them a try if I have the time. I have another two weeks to complete this environment.

Any feedback or critique will be much appreciated, but please bare with me if I don't understand all the Maya/UDK terms yet, I'm still learning and I'm trying to be a huge sponge and take it all in. ^_^

Will post some screenshots of the modelled environment in the next 5-10 mins, so stick around!

Replies

• Spikings
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here's some quick wireframe screenshots of the environment, because it's got four walls it's a bit difficult to get a proper angle, hope it's ok. The chequer texture is up as I've only just started UV mapping it, probably about 15% mapped now, must have the majority mapped for this friday.

x40x8h.png

9694bk.png

14wbuzc.png

34qtvup.png
  • Fnitrox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fnitrox polycounter lvl 6