Home General Discussion

Question Abouts Freelancing from Student.

Bakscratch
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Bakscratch polycounter lvl 11
Hello, Im a student from the UK aged 18.
Im doing a graphical art course, I have chosen to focus around game design and 2D graphical design. Im coming closer toward the end of my education (unless I go to UNI), I feel that if I got to UNI I will be wasting my time and money as I feel I can achieve what I would do a UNI at home.
I was speaking with a teacher about what I wanna do in the future, the subject of freelancing came up, I was saying I could just go freelancing instead of UNI (or doing both which I dont really wanna do) My teacher then said to talk to some people who do freelancing, So I have a few questions if you dont mind answering.

-How often do you get work from companies or small groups of people?

-How much do you get paid? (per job or in total)

-Is it possible to make a living of freelancing?

-Should freelancing be a "hobby" not a full time work effort?

-Should you start doing freelancing then move onto getting a full time job?

-Do you have another job while doing freelancing?

-What are the positives of doing freelancing? (and negatives)

-and any other information you have to give on the matter.
Thank You. :)

Replies

• VelvetElvis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    VelvetElvis polycounter lvl 12
    Freelancing is a tough gig to break into. First off, you need to have a decent freelancing history and portfolio to even be considered for work.

-How often do you get work from companies or small groups of people?
    That depends, how good of a salesman are you? How good of a network do you have? Who do you know? Do you know where to find jobs? It's up to you is how much work you get. No one else.

-How much do you get paid? (per job or in total)