Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First post, first try at hand-painting

Hi all,

finally got the courage up to make an account and post on these forums - I'm a game art student and my tutor has been at everyone in the class to get on here for at least the last year.

My current assignment is an exterior environment, I chose a duck pond (not that there's any ducks on it). I just finished the photo-ref version and I'm now working on a hand-painted one.

After several hours of frustration over grass (that file got trashed) I went to bed, but was up again an hour later with inspiration for some slightly rocky ground. This is for a path of sorts that will divide the small island and lead over a bridge.

HP_Dirt_256.jpg

I debated whether to try for a smooth painting style or a rougher one, I think I'm enjoying the freedom that I get with the slightly rougher brushes.

Comments and suggestions to improve are welcome! When I wake up again I'll post the wireframe of the duck pond so that there's some context to where these textures will be applied.

Replies

• Selaznog
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Selaznog polycounter lvl 8
    Looking good so far! As for the grass, I feel your pain....I've tried doing hand painted grass textures dozens of times, scrapping each one. Unfortunately, I think the only way to make a convincing flat grass texture is to have very rough generic brush strokes. Check out Diablo 3:
    http://lancastria.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2008/06/diablo3_2_lancastria.jpg
    Where they dont have grass alpha cards, the texture is fairly muddy, and each blade is just a quick short brush stroke.
    I found my best grass was actually clovers, as they read better than grass does from top down. Check out Jessicas grass as well for inspiration: http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=87797&page=18