Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Modular Environment Piece

Hello friendly Polycounters,

I started learning game art recently and am modeling and texturing a modular environment piece for practice. I have several questions and would like advice and critique please. Also any correction of terminology used is much appreciated.

Here is my reference image:
reference1.jpg
I'm not trying to recreate the reference. I would also like to move through each stage and come back if necessary without getting too bogged down with details. I find this helps me to learn better and keeps interest.

Here is my mesh:
mesh1.jpg

Here is the current UV layout in maya:
uvs1.jpg

I have a basic concrete texture applied to the mesh for now. I will work on the textures when I get some free time from work. As you can see the resolution in the pillars is not great.

1. Do you recommend piping in directly from a psd (as I've done) or an image file such as tga or jpg for eg?
2. Would it be beneficial to stack all pillar uv's (bottom left) on top of each to save texture space and then increase the size so that the resolution would improve?
3. Do you have any feedback on the way I've laid out my UV's?
4. Do you have any other comments about anything else? :D

Here are 2 snapped modular pieces in Unity with a couple of lights:
unity1.jpg

Thanks so much for your time! :thumbup:

Replies

• MrRik
    Offline / Send Message
    MrRik polycounter lvl 7
    your texture could be 1/4 of what it is now. Mainly because everything is layed out with no overlapping at all. Just like you said you could easily lay everything onto eachother.
  • TJ062
    The uv islands could do with resizing, there is alot of space wasted.
    Also overlaying the uvs will give you more resolution.
  • JoshWilkinson
    Offline / Send Message
    JoshWilkinson polycounter lvl 9