Home Technical Talk

[Continuing] Random Modo Questions

Hello All, Apologies if this has already been posted somewhere, I just haven't seen any real place to ask Modo specific questions other than the Modo 601 Post awhile back.

I'm a new convert to Modo from Maya and absolutely loving it so far. I am a noob at it though and do have tons of questions. I'm hoping to just use this one thread to dump my random problems, in the hopes that some of you ballers here on polycount can help a modo noob with.

First immediate question comes with it's native Loop Slice tool. Coming from Maya, it was super easy to 'Insert Edge Loop' to add holding edges etc. I'm trying to simply do the same here, and am having a bit of difficulty. As it is now, I have faces of one side selected and simply want to add a holding edge to the side. However, when I use the Loop Slice tool it gives me some weird problem areas and I can't seem to figure out why [pic attached]. Could this be to weird tool settings?

Any workflow tips are much appreciated! (No I haven't installed a ton of scripts, Since I'm new I was hoping to learn the native app before going in and using scripts etc.) Thanks!

ModoLoopSlice.jpg

Replies

• igi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    igi polycounter lvl 12
    Go to edge tab,theres a tool called add edges.This tool inserts loops directly on your mesh and theres some handy options like 'both sides' and 'preserve curves'.Play with them.

You have to be careful when choosing poly loops,ngons sometimes confuses the loop slice tool.And picking order is also matters.Choose a poly loop then add loop slice and then choose another one and then add loop slice again etc.I see wonky poly selection.
  • warinmysky
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey igi, Thanks for the reply! Add Loop worked just perfect. I had always left it to split at the middle so for whatever reason never considered it. What then, is the difference of Loop Slice and Add Loop?
  • igi
    Options