Home General Discussion

Best texture software for games texturing

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Eithne polycounter lvl 7
Hi all!
My name's Miriam, I'm new on Polycount.
I work as a texture artist for feature films but I really enjoy game's world and I'm very interested to improve my skills trying to create some characters with a different workflow from my current.
I was wondering what kind of software for texturing is more suitable for games?
Actually I make my textures using mudbox and photoshop, sometimes I use bodypaint, but for example I know that very big productions like to use Mari.
Does anyone use zbrush?
Is there a software more useful/suitable for texturing in game's industry?

Cheers

Replies

• adam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    adam polycounter lvl 19
    A lot of people use zBrush. Otherwise, you're in the right direction for software to use.

There really isn't an alternative to Photoshop in this industry - at least not a complete alternative - so stick with that. Mud/ZB is just personal preference.
  • Kwramm
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kwramm interpolator
    Photoshop is bread'n'butter. Mari is getting a foothold from what I hear. ZBrush is also pretty wide spread. I'd say more widespread than Mari because unlike Mari it's not an extra license to buy. Mudbox is also a good contender.

A lot comes down to what software the studio has already bought. If they have tons of Mudbox seats and you're a Zbrush person, then you'll have to learn to live with Mudbox.

If you're asking what's best for you: that depends what you like best! all programs have strengths and weaknesses.

If you're concerned about the industry, then Photoshop, Zbrush/Mudbox are pretty much standard and you cannot go wrong looking into those.
  • JacqueChoi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JacqueChoi polycounter
    All are applicable, depending on the studio.

You'll find the only thing that matters is results.