Home General Discussion

New person with no clue :P

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie to this and I am after a bit of advice for my younger brother, he is interested in doing something within the gaming industry for his career, he is 14 and loves games!

Having looked through various posts I have seen that alpt of work is self taught rather than courses, but having no idea where to start/point him I would appreciate any advice.

I have bought him a few books that have a cd which teach some sort of game/computer programming, but know that he should learn languages.

What languages would you suggest he learns? Also where can I get this sort of thing from?

Steph

Replies

• McGreed
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    McGreed polycounter lvl 15
    It really depends on what area of computer games development he wants to do, is it art, programming, audio etc. Computer games is not just coding, as we here should know. ;)
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Well... you aren't going to get much programing help here, this is mostly a forum for artists (who normally run screaming when you mention code). There are a few code warriors floating around but they are mostly technical artists who straddle the line and develop tools for artists to use instead of full blown games. Still they might be able to point you in the right direction.

You might want to hit up www.tech-artist.org and ask the same question they might be able to point you in the right direction.
  • Bigjohn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bigjohn polycounter lvl 11
    A good place to start, if you're looking at game-programming I mean, is maybe something like this:
    http://eat3d.com/unrealscript