Home Technical Talk

Best Normal/Spec/etc mapping Question

I am fairly new to 3D modeling, I took a 3D modeling course in college last semester and learned maya. The professor taught normal/spec mapping using crazybump. The school had a subscription so I used it for a while and like the product fairly well, but I was wondering if there are (most likely)any better programs for this. I would like to purchase a program within a couple of months, but please keep in mind I dont have a ton of money (crazy bump will run me 50 bucks for a student version) so I would prefer under 60-70 if possible.

Again sorry about having to ask, and I tried to search for the answer but it wouldnt load after searching.

Replies

• Cap
    Offline / Send Message
    Cap triangle
    NDO2 is an alternative to crazybump, about the same price. Ive found I can do a lot more in NDO2 than I ever could in crazybump, although CB is still very useful at times. NDO2 has a bit of a learning curve tho, but dont let that scare you. It will also generate a "spec map", but I would never use a program to generate a spec map from a diffuse/photo, never going to get decent results that way.

http://www.quixel.se/
  • Surferdude
    This is a little off topic for my thread, but what is the proper way of making a spec map then? Again I am new to all of this, especially normal/spec mapping. Also thanks for the quick reply :)

PS: Also I forgot to ask, but is nDO2 or others more or less 'industry standard'? If Im not mistaken high level studios create custom maps somehow and not use these programs, but I guess the better question would be if it gives professional looking results?
  • Bek
    Offline / Send Message
    Bek interpolator
    xNormal is a pretty damn good program for baking normal maps from high poly models to low poly, and has a few other features.
  • Brendan
    Offline / Send Message
    Brendan polycounter lvl 8
    Specular mapping, good, realistic specular mapping, is all about the maths.