Home General Discussion

What are your favorite video game features ?

Hey all. Long time lurker, fairly new poster.

I was recently having a discussion with one of my coworkers about our favorite video game qualities. Some were little details, while others had massive impact. Regardless we broke it down into Characters, Environments, and Game play. It would be great to hear some of your opinions !

Characters

I tend to prefer dynamic characters that are constantly changing their looks or outfits. I guess the biggest draw for me is progression or customization. The feeling of getting "better" or dramatically changing the way I look keeps things interesting.

Environments

As a fellow artist I tend to fall in love with immersive environments. When the world moves with your actions such as grass, snow, dirt, and mud (Like Uncharted for example). It always helps the level feel more "alive" and really draws me into the game.

Gameplay

I love the "epic" feeling of massive boss fights. Games like Shadow of the Colossus, God of War, and Everquest where you fight creatures larger than the screen. Its always a very rewarding feeling when you take down a demigod or monster that is 100 times your size.

How about you ? :)

Replies

• Stinger88
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stinger88 polycounter
    You missed out what I consider too be one of the most important features in games. The soundtrack. Gameplay, story, enviros, etc are all great but without music its not nearly as epic. MDK is a great example of a great game made even better with a great soundtrack.
  • JamesWild
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JamesWild polycounter lvl 8