Home Technical Talk

3DS Max vs Maya

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Benjam polycounter lvl 4
Hey guys,

I was just wondering what the general view is of games industry standard modelling packages, i know a lot of studios use Max but then again some use Maya.

What would you say is best to get to grips with for a job in the industry?

cheers!

Replies

• Visceral
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    This is going to turn out good.
  • Benjam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Benjam polycounter lvl 4
    i know right ;) i can use Maya confidently but for my next project i was thinking of using Max so i can get used to using it who knows i might prefer it. Should i stick to it?
  • Visceral
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Errrhm im no expert. I think what i could get out the billions of other treads with this topic is that is all comes down to preference. They are both good at stuff.

But seriously if you know 2 modelling applications that can only be better.
  • WarrenM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Honestly, it doesn't matter. If you learn one package, learning the other is a matter of learning the new UI layout and hot keys. The concepts are totally transferable.
  • Benjam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Benjam polycounter lvl 4
    cool ill go ahead with max in the next project
  • passerby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby polycounter lvl 12
    just different tools, can be useful to know a few, but i also wouldn't try jumping between apps, till you feel like you got a advanced understanding of 1 3d package first.
  • poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    At which point you despise all others.

For example ... I - as a 15ish year max user with a decent grasp of maya and loads of experience as a TA in a mixed pipeline - think maya is shit and more trouble than its worth.

The thing is, all the primary maya users i work with disagree...