Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Akira Motorcycle (Noobie needs advice/criticism)

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Dirty Frank polycounter lvl 8
My first post!

Hi guys.

I'm fairly new to 3D modelling and have recently started a project modelling the motorcycle from Akira in Max.
As Im not that experienced Id really appreciate any advice or constructive criticism you guys could offer, be it on my process, topology, suggesting techniques to use etc

One thing I did notice after gathering a load of reference images was that there doesnt really seem to be a consistant design to the bike. It even changes throughout the film itself! For this reason I guess I can take some liberties and use a bit of artistic license. But should you spot and glaring errors please let me know.

Anyaway heres where im currently at:

b3n76s.jpg

Am I right in assuming that I should be modelling it in lower poly pieces and then applying a turbo smooth modifier, collapsing the stack and then altering/deleting any unwanted edge loops? Or would you suggest a better method?

Also, is it right that what with it being a vehicle (and thus smoothy and shiny) I want to be doing my best to avoid tri's?

Thanks for your input!

Replies

• TehSplatt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TehSplatt polycounter lvl 11
    Don't collapse the stack. And its hard surface to tris dont really matter unless they kill your edge flow and make it look like shit as long as it looks good then meh lol
  • Aga22
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Aga22 polycounter lvl 11