Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Critique on Cylon \Model

Hello all! I am an animation student at the Art Institute in Vancouver and have recently started getting into 3D modeling (it is part of our animation program). Like my friend nanaelh, I am seeking advice for my CCM 261 course regarding the model I have made. I chose to model the Cylon from the newer "Battlestar Galactica" series. The model I have is currently not textured as it is still a WIP. I'm hoping some of you kind folk can give me some critique on this. Any and all will be appreciated!

rendered5.jpg

rendered4.jpg

rendered3.jpg

rendered2.jpg

rendered1.jpg

If it would help, I can also post the reference images that I used in building this model. Again, I would like to thank all of you in advance

Replies

• JO420
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JO420 polycounter lvl 18
    Looking fine so far but perhaps put up some wire frames so a more pointed critique can be provided.
  • ryan_a
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Wireframes, of course! That would be definitely be helpful. Here are a couple of wireframe images of the cylon. Again, any and all help will be appreciated! :)

cylon_wireframe2.jpg

cylon_wireframe.jpg
  • nanaelh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey Ryan! The model is looking really good so far.

If I could change anything, I'd try to change the pose as his (left-screen) arm is being obstructed by his hip and he just looks all-around-stiff. In terms of modelling, his shoulder plates look a little frail and thin, so I would try to thicken those a bit.

His proportions seem to look balanced thus far. Honestly, I can't see anything else that may spark up a critique (either it's that good or I'm just really tired! zzz)

Nonetheless, it's beginning to look really nice and polished. Keep going with it and you'll be doing really well! :)

Goodluck.
  • Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter