Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Storm learning character creation

Hey guys!

I have been a lurker on the site and after some motivation from a member I have joined to get feedback and learn more about character art!

I am pretty new to this, only been doing character art for about four months. I use zbrush for sculpting and Maya for base mesh and block out work!

So here is my current piece that I would really appreciate any crit that I can learn from! I want to start with the face because I personally think I am very weak with creating the face. This particular piece I didn't really have a reference (Next one will, I promise!). Any techniques or any crit as I said, I will take with open arms!

WIP.png

Replies

• leslievdb
    Offline / Send Message
    leslievdb polycounter lvl 15
    do you have some more images so we can judge the head a bit better?
  • innervision961
    Hey Stormfreek! Character art is a daunting task to be sure, but very rewarding! I'm no expert on the matter, but you are off to a great start man! Don't be afraid of those ears, get in there with clay/standard and do them up proper!

I can't overstate this enough, and I have/had the same problem, USE REFERENCE! Everyone told me the same thing, and I always felt like it was cheating, but I promise you, it is NOT! Even if you aren't modeling the exact person in your reference, use their features for you own benefit. Look closely at how lips work, how they connect, how the fat pads and creases.

Study anatomy, its boring (it can be anyway), it is tedious but it is by far the best thing an aspiring character artist can do.

Imagine where you will be 4 months from now if you keep up this work, if you really take a critical eye to your work and iterate it and focus on the parts you're weakest at.