Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[wip] stylized environment

Hey folks,

first of all .. i'm not very experienced in environment art nor stylized/handpainted textures, that's why i'm hoping to get some good feedback from you guys so i can improve my scene here.

This is supposed to be more a environment like you have in those hack & slay games, that's why i decided to go for that camera angle and the illustrated style.

The whole vegetation is still missing and those textures/shaders are mostly just some blockouts.

Here is the current state

scene1.JPG

Replies

• FullSynch
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    FullSynch polycounter lvl 11
    Well I'm no environment artist, but I could throw a few opinions out. Right now your wood is looking a bit muddy and plain. Everything in this scene appears to be a different shade of brown. So if you want to take the stylized route I would take some artistic liberties and throw in a lot more colorful and sharp textures.
  • chrisradsby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    chrisradsby polycounter lvl 14
    I like the bold shapes but I think you could push for a more stylized look. You need to make sure the edges of the objects pop. If it's a hack and slash game you'll have lots of things happening on the screen at once. Generally players need to be able to identify interesting buildings from just debris and other stuff lying around.

So work with colors and a bit more contrast to make the building pop from the background more.
  • Benjam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Benjam polycounter lvl 4
    I like the style your going for, i would say that you should add a bit of green to the ground texture, make the mud less dry and more healthy. It can still be dirt and mud but make it a bit more fresh.

For vegetation i would say a mix of healthy green and dying green (brown and crisp) but with more healthy than dying. Really make the scene pop at you!