Home Technical Talk

Maya leaves help..

So this is a two part question. Im still learning the ways of Maya and other 3D programs as I go through school. I decide to start a side project just for practice and experience as we all do and decided to make a tree scene to learn more about lighting and texturing. My first question would be,

1. what is the best way to make a good looking tree? Would you suggest that I give this a try in Zbrush then import to Maya?

2. What would give me the best looking foliage for the area below the tree? I want to learn to do it to the point where it looks realistic given the programs I currently have (Maya, Mudbox, zbrush, photoshop, etc.) Are their any good tutorials for this?

3. Leaves, I can make leaves no problem, but Ive seen some people use an effect that adds weight to one portion of the leaves giving them a more realistic drop during animation rather then me having to manipulate each individual leaf. Can anyone explain this to me or show me a good tutorial for it?

4. This one kind of mixes with number two, what is the best way to make terrain? Say I want to make a decent size forest area, how would you guys suggest I go about doing this?

I am really looking forward to learning this stuff because Ive always wanted to be an environmental artist so any tips and pointers would help. Thanks in advance guys.:poly141:

Replies

• Dataday
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dataday polycounter lvl 8
    Tree: Zspheres in zbrush, sculpt out the tree, retopologize to get low rez mesh, UV and bake high rez details onto the low res.

You can also play around SpeedTree, which comes along with any version of UDK (free). This allows you generate trees and also export them.

For nice detail below the tree, the same idea of using high poly to low poly applies. Just use an alpha to phase out the mesh into the ground (transparency).