Home General Discussion

Suddenly Lead Artist

AMess
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
AMess polycounter lvl 7
Hello All,

since half a year I am a lead artist in a small games company. I was 3d-artist beforehand for a year and before that student at a media design school.

The Lead Artist position came somewhat unexpected to me and I realized in this last half year that I'm not quite aware of the qualities a Lead Artist must have. I think I made some mistakes in that time but on the other hand it's hard to compare to other Leads to learn from them since there are none in the company and I don't know anyone who is one.

So I wonder if you all could help me out with this, perhaps with some answers and/or with some links to articles about that issue.

To some up my questions:
What qualities should a Lead Game Artist possess?
What is his purpose and how should he achieve it?

Thanks all in advance, I hope that we will get a focussed discussion here running.

Best regards, AMess

Replies

• Kwramm
  • glottis8
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    glottis8 polycounter lvl 9
    I did a small write up of some of my points of view on this, and the IGDA Lead conference meeting last year.

http://brau3d.blogspot.com/2011/11/igda-leadership-forum-session-notes.html

Its funny, cuz i posted it to start some discussions and insight, but nobody ever replied. :P
  • Pancakes
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pancakes polycounter lvl 10
    Above all avoid pettiness.