Home Technical Talk

Total newbie with dumb questions

I hope this isn't a faux-pas to make a thread here with such elementary questions, I'm new to polycount and frankly I don't even understand what most of the thread titles in this subforum mean.

I'm trying to teach myself low poly 3D modeling for fun and have been learning 3Ds Max for a few days via youtube. My main background is with painting and digital illustration, but I've always had an interest in game art and thought it would be a useful thing to have some first hand understanding of 3D modeling if I were to pursue work as a concept artist (couldn't look bad on a resume either). Truth be told the recent implementation of the Steam Workshop for Dota 2 is what got me excited to try learning 3D again, so producing that level of game-quality 3D assets from start to finish is my current "big goal" and motivator.

I'm a complete novice though, and I'm starting with just about zero knowledge of 3D programs. I did a little bit of research and settled on Max as the program to learn and, as I said, have been familiarizing myself with basic operating of the program, but there's a lot to learn.

I got a small bit of confidence and decided to try my hand at grabbing a simple nearby object and trying to model it, same as I would suggest to a person wanting to learn how to draw, so I had a try at my Mag Lite

This is pretty much "baby's first model" here but I spent more time than I would care to admit figuring out how to make it, and even what seemed initially like a pretty simple object managed to stump me. Throughout the whole process I constantly wished I had someone to directly ask questions to, so I've finally manned up and made an account here.

maglite.jpg