Home Technical Talk

Zbrush help on a post noise application

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
NAIMA polycounter lvl 14
Hello , I was experimenting with noise and always making stuff for mod in skyrim , so this time a chainmail armor ... I applied as shows in the picture a chainmail noise I created and applied there setting strenght etc ... tough I applied on the whole mesh , but afterthinking I would like to add separation points in "leather" borders to ger a more realistic appearence and actually removing the jagging of the borders look created by the rings at the edges not really looking good ... so I am wondering how can I do this ?

Probalby you woudl say making , ok but how do I do this since I have applied it already to my mesh? :/ ... redo all by scratch or there is a better way ? Thanks a lot for any suggestions , as usual I am still new to Zbrush ...

http://img651.imageshack.us/img651/9194/chainmail.jpg

Replies

• cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    Do the leather strips as a separate mesh / subtool. It would be quick and easy, and give the best result.
  • NAIMA
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NAIMA polycounter lvl 14
    Usually I create extra meshes in 3dsmax and import in zbrush is there a way to make complex low poly stuff directly in zbrush ? Perhaps a small tut about it ? Thx fir ur answers...
  • cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    For strips like that,just append a zsphere and edit it's topology. Projection should be off by default which is what you'd want. Drop the density down to 1 so that the corners don't smooth, and add some thickness to the skin before creating it. Then you just need to add some basic creasing and it should be ready for detailing. I could take a few screenshots to show what I mean.
  • NAIMA
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NAIMA polycounter lvl 14
    If you could do it would be great :D . As I am yet not expert ...