Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Critique

Hi everyone, I am a recent graduate and I am trying to get my portfolio up to snuff. Any advice you could give would be much appreciated.

Here's the site: http://justindwilder.com

Replies

• Wilder4690
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I went ahead and redid the first image and combined an ambient occlusion pass with a vector pass to show the poly-flow. Do you guys recommend I do the same for the other images that are currently just rendered with ambient occlusion?
  • gsokol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    UGHH FLASH! KILL IT WITH FIRE!

In all seriousness...most people look down on flash..not being able to right click and save images is no bueno.

First off...take a look through this:
    http://www.jonjones.com/2005/10/07/your-portfolio-repels-jobs/

Heed this guys advice..he knows what hes talking about.

The biggest thing is that you need to have a focus on what type of job you want, and get rid of the fluff. If you want to be a 3d artist, you don't need the Bio, Writing, or 2D work.

As far as your 3d work goes...almost none of it appears finished. Besides the scene with the trees, nothing else is textured....with the exception of the lego looking dudes which just have solid colors. You should really drop your portfolio down to a small set of completely finished pieces.

Also, keep an eye out for other peoples portfolios on here and see their portfolio design and quality of work, and try to match that.

Thats all for now..check out the article and take advice from it. I think you have a lot of work to do to have a portfolio that will land you a job, but don't be discouraged. Keep it up man.
  • theslingshot
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Wilder4690 wrote: »
    I went ahead and redid the first image and combined an ambient occlusion pass with a vector pass to show the poly-flow

That sounds like some complex quantum mechanic when you read it out loud heh :poly142: