Home Technical Talk

blending tileable textures

Hi everyone!
I am having a problem i cant figure out..
So i have this ground plane:

tilevi.jpg

Now, i would usually use this method to blend some grass or some other texture to breakup the tiling:
http://www.polycount.com/forum/showpost.php?p=1009650&postcount=637

But the problem is i am tiling the texture which is part of a uv map. Meaning that i have to facemap the tilling. Any blending images i paint would just tile with the texture. So my question is how do i manage to blend this texuture knowing that it's part of a texture atlas?

Replies

• |MM|
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Where do you want to blend it? In 3ds max?

Use a second UV channel.
  • M1KES
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    i would like to try in udk mobile... but am a noob with udk.. does it support seperate uv channels?
  • |MM|
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It definitely does, but I'm not an expert with UDK either.
  • passerby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby polycounter lvl 12
    us a vertex paint shader, that way you can just paint vertex colour in udk, to blend in the grass texture.
  • M1KES
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thanks for the help! Do you or anybody know if this would be the best method of doing it? Would it bring big drawbacks on performance or something?
  • M1KES
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby wrote: »
    us a vertex paint shader, that way you can just paint vertex colour in udk, to blend in the grass texture.

but i would need the grass texture be a seperate texture for that. I can't choose any other texture but the one i am using. Unless there is a way to make udk select a different UV space. Of course this would all be solved with the multiple uv's method.. was just wondering if there are any drawbacks on it.
  • passerby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    M1KES wrote: »