Home General Discussion

Tris count vs topology

Hi there!!!

I'm new at polycount, and my first thread is to ask for your advice.

I'm modeling a helicopter, intended to be for high-end consoles. It is a requisite to get a job, and I must show this working in the engine (UDK), showing the fps.

I can finish it in two way, in both of them would look almost the same, with the maps applied:

1.- Keep it low triangle count, wich means not an ugly, but not nice topology (about 12,000 tris, aprox. (no interiors).

2.- Take care also of the topology, in order to show that I can keep modeling almost with quads and good flows. 15,000 tris, aprox. (no interiors).

For example, this is a blog where the guy shows the best way to close cylinders. Looks very clean, but increase the poly count considerably:

http://blog.whiteblaizer.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/03/sdm04_08.gif

He says is the best way to work for UV Maps... Is thath true?

What should I do?

I'd appreciate the advice from both: pros and novs.

Replies

• Neox
    Offline / Send Message
    Neox godlike master sticky
    its a static mesh, if your tris don't add to shape or help you texturing, remove them. movietype clean topology is nothing you need for games. For deformable objext topology is important but not really for static meshes.
  • Joshua Stubbles
    Offline / Send Message
    Joshua Stubbles polycounter lvl 19
    Topology really only matters if it's an animated/deforming mesh. With a helo, it shouldn't really matter. The lower the count can be while still retaining enough information for silhouette and good normal bakes, the better.

Once you bake out normals, don't futz with the edges or else you'll start having issues.

The cylinder in question there is a HP mesh. You wouldn't close a LP mesh like that. Here's a great old example:

byf2_figure5.jpg