Home General Discussion

Final year project - I need you!

W3ll0n
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
W3ll0n polycounter lvl 6
Hey guys!
I'm in my final year at university and for my main project I am doing a small investigation into video games and their relationship with players. I would really appreciate it if you could take 2-5minutes of your time to fill out my survey!

Survey Link: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/YR6T8TH

Thanks a lot!

Replies

• MiAlx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MiAlx polycounter lvl 10
    Once in a while I can't control the urge to strike another person.

I have become so mad that I have broken things.

Given enough provocation, I may hit another person.
    I really don't like where this is going. Trying to connect personality disorders and playing games (with or without violence) with surveys never ends well.. Even if someone seems to have, for instance, paranoid schizophrenic disorder you can't simpy assume that he really has it. You need a thorough face to face psych evaluation to determine disorders.

Are you aware of Hare's psychopathy checklist (Hare's PCL-S)? It is commonly used to determine if someone is a psychopath. I'm sure if you applied it to your survey results, a number of people will be diagnosed to be that. This doesn't mean that they really are psychopaths. And then this doens't mean that they play violent games because they are, or they became psychopaths because they played violent games.

I filled out your survey but be aware that your conclusion from it's result may be very contextual. :)
  • arrangemonk
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    arrangemonk polycounter lvl 15
    wasnt there a survey like that few months ago around polycount?
  • Bibendum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yes, made by the same person.
  • W3ll0n
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    W3ll0n polycounter lvl 6
    MiAlx wrote: »