Home Technical Talk

Zbrush normals/Tangent for games

TylerSorg
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
TylerSorg polycounter lvl 4
I have been using max and zbrush for a while now, I am working on games and doing things in UDK. I hit a brick wall when it comes to the putting normals on my low poly. I have clicked about every exporting option combo I can. I think its my the tangent creating issues but I am not how to fix it. I bring it into max and click on the tangent under the normal map area and well you see what it looks like, I click on other things like world etc, and its fine. That would be great if I do just stills.. but I bring them to UDK and They are nice models except for the ungodly seems because of this tangent thing. I would LOVEEEEEE help I have been fighting with this for a few months now and 3 different projects.

TylerSorg

PM me or write here, I would like a detailed description of what to do, just act like I dont' know much... even though I know some things, I feel like Im missing something and need a clear understanding to what it is.

ps I know i have a bad unwrap on the monster lol.

Replies

• cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    I wouldn't expect a straight bake from zbrush to come out looking good in UDK (I'm not sure if the engine is synched to anything, but results should still be better when baking using xnormal/max/something that actually takes into account custom usernormals on the mesh).

Edi: Also, be sure that the normal map's compression setting is set correctly in UDK instead of the default
  • TylerSorg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You mean when I bring in the maps into udk make sure the normals are set for normals? I do that. At this point the stuff looks better in udk then it does in max. except for the normals located on the seams that is.
  • Ace-Angel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ace-Angel polycounter lvl 12