Home Technical Talk

Student: Need help starting

I am a high school sophomore and I would like to receive any advice I can get. I have an idea that a scientist fused the Dna of a Neon tetra (fish) and an iguana and stands like a human. With this idea I would like to first at least try to draw and create this creature in a 3d program. If I can accomplish that I would like to see if I could make an animation with it also. If there is ANY advice or help you can give to me please give it. Thanks in advance!

Replies

• Joopson
    Offline / Send Message
    Joopson quad damage
    How much experience in 3D do you have?
    If you know the basics, I'd check out the wiki: http://wiki.polycount.com/

If not, maybe check out some Digital-tutors tutorials, or SimplyMaya.com, et cetera.
    There are some nice tutorials out there for beginners, so just go to google and search! You'll find plenty of stuff that will help.

Also, get lots of reference for fish and iguanas, and people too.
  • vreza
    Offline / Send Message
    vreza polycounter lvl 12
    do u really want to learn and execute this yourself?
    if you do, you should pick a 3d package and start watching tutorials for beginners. it might take weeks maybe months, intensively. and sometimes you're gonna think ur learning things unrelated to ur project, but IMO it's very important to have good foundation.

after u r comfortable with the basics, find tutorials on character or creature modeling. this is naturally more advanced, as ur gonna deal with (basic)anatomy, edge-loop, topology, etc, and thats only for modeling. u can start applying the knowledge from tutorials to ur project and see how it goes.

but if u just wanna see ur idea comes to life without necessarily doing it yourself, u can commission someone, maybe one of the fellows here.
  • David Wakelin
    Goodluck, you have many many months ahead of you...
  • Mark Dygert