Home General Discussion

Hi All... Care to answer a few easy questions?

Hi everyone!

I'm new here at Polycount so I'd best introduce myself before we go too far :)

My name is Joel and I am from Brisbane in Australia. I have been working in IT for about 10 years and successfully run my own IT retail store (www.1upcomputers.com.au). Not so long ago, after a massive night drinking with some friends - a friend brought up an interesting proposal. Long story short, 10 of my friends and I have started working on an indy first person shooter. I am currently studying game design at Griffith Uni, and have little to no practical skills when it comes to modelling. In the last 3 weeks, by watching whatever tutorials I have managed to stumble upon I have picked up the basic proficiencies required as far as I can tell.

Now as far as research goes, there is a bucket of information out there on the web. I understand most of the concepts, but haven't managed to really tie them all together into a coherent knot. So here comes my questions :)

1. Based on whitepapers, googling, research and also reading a fair bit here at polycount I can presume that the following are critical starting points

• Concept - From story to gameplay, right down to the basic stuff such as play styles etc
  • Art - Concept art, low poly placeholders, basic rigid structures etc
  • Design - Polishing most of the above