Home General Discussion

Question regarding your asset building process

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
systemic polycounter lvl 7
Hey guys, let me just start by saying I love Polycount. I've been enamored with the forums ever since stumbling across them a few months ago. This is a really awesome place.

I've been working with UDK for a few months and just recently getting into asset creation (using 3ds Max 2012). I've watched tutorials on 3dmotive, Eat3d and hundreds scattered around the internet [especially Thiago Klafke and Philip K - love you guys!], but I'm a little confused when it comes to the 'proper' asset building process. Obviously there is no 100% correct way to do things, but there are best practices and that's what I'm curious about.

Anyway, my question... when you're creating an asset, do you first create the texture, then build the geometry around the image or build the geometry first and create a texture to fit that geometry? Or does it just depend on the situation?

I've seen a number of tutorials that suggest it both ways, but when trying each method for myself, I've also run into complications, so it's not clear to me which way. I'd like to hear what you all think is the best method.

Thanks

Replies

• l.croxton
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I would say model then texture. Tutorials usually have a pre-made texture so when it comes to UVmapping its easier and it gives the person learning (us) no need to worry about how to create the texture just yet.

However I am super new to this, so hopefully my reply will spur someone with better knowledge to give you a suitable answer :).
  • sprunghunt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter
    I always go:

placeholder/blockout
    highpoly
    lowpoly
    texture

I've seen people do a texture first style workflow. However it doesn't always give the best result in my opinion since you can't get as precise normalmapping on the models.
  • Equanim