Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[CE/Max] 1994 Ford Explorer (Jurassic Park)

Hi all

First post here, a guy at work recommended I put this on the polycount forums...so this is something I've been working on for the last few months. By profession I'm a games and level designer, however I learnt 3D Max at uni and made a couple of small (crappy) props back then, after which I went into a job at Codemasters for a few years where I used Max to make racing game tracks. I've now decided to focus on crafting a proper model, for almost the first time I guess. Given how I like to tie my work into movies I decided to create the Jurassic Park Ford Explorer and set it in a JP inspired Cryengine scene, along with a couple of other props. Reference for the car (not the scene) is below:

jurassicparkexplorer.jpg

During the course of this project I hope to learn about quite a few new processes, including proper modelling, unwrapping, texturing (something I've not done much at all, I've just bought a graphics tablet for this purpose) and new lighting techniques within Cryengine. I don't however know if I'm creating a low poly or just a high poly though, i'm not trying to be an artist after all just making a scene for the portfolio and learning some new stuff.

Currently I'm still at the stage of creating the car - it's still missing a few details and things like windscreen wipers and I need to re-do the tyre treads as the ones pictured were my first attempt and I'm not overly happy with them. I think however now is a good time to gather any feedback, before I start the unwrapping process. So, critiques welcome!

Also, excuse the renders if they're not that great, i'm new to Vray and rendering in general too :)

WIP Renders:

3wire.jpg

89403353.jpg

60193565.jpg

36454012.jpg

Replies

• Pedro Amorim
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    perspective renders dude! :) LOoks great tho!
  • PHaynes888
    Options
    Offline / Send Message