Home Technical Talk

Exporting a voluminous mesh into UDK

Nab
Nab
Hi everyone,

I am a newbie in the 3d world and I am working on visualizing a large building. My ideal goal is to be able to take a whole 3d CAD drawing in microstation with relevant material and textures, convert it to FBX and import it in UDK.

When I try to load my FBX file into UDK (content browser), I'm getting a message saying that the number of vertices of my FBX file exceeds the max allowed. I knew all along that this would challenging since, I think , the idea behind game engines is to work with little chunks of data either imported or locally created.

So my questions are :
1- Is what I'm doing even possible? :)
2- Is there any technique I can use to reduce the number of vertices of my drawing either in Microstaion, Blender, a File converter, or any other relevant program?
3- Is there any other game Engine which allows the importation of a voluminous file as a single "mesh" (probably with no limit).
4- If I have to switch gears and not follow the path of DGN->OBJ->FBX->UDK, what are the suggestion for the best way to render a 3D CAD drawing?

Replies

• Nab
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nab
    Thanks for your replies.
  • WarrenM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    17 minutes is your limit on waiting for replies?
  • Ace-Angel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ace-Angel polycounter lvl 12
    So you're asking for the basics in rendering in CAD, and how to reduce vertices count, (and by the sounds of it) you didn't even read the basic documentation of UDK on the UDN sites, while being sarcastic about it 17 minuets later?

Yeah, good luck with any help at this point, I think google at this point is your best bet.
  • Nab
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nab
    Ace-Angel wrote: »