Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook : Leodido

Hey all, I'm Leo from Switzerland and I'm 28 years old.
I work as a software engineer but I've been a long time lurker on Polycount and always marvelled at the stuff you guys made. Recently I started toying in UDK to try to make a level for Red Orchestra 2, which is a WW2 FPS. I quickly realised that without getting some skill at modelling to make my own props I would never achieve anything great.

So I've followed several tutorials for 3ds max and now I think I need to start making stuff myself without following instructions to really learn how to model. There are a lot of stuff I don't know about so I hope you guys will be able to give me some advice.

First thing I decided to model and to keep it simple was a mug.
Here is the reference picture I used. Don't laugh! :poly136:
hy36Vs.jpg

My first ever model.. Since I don't know what I'm doing I went freestyle, started with a cyclinder and carried on from there. I had some issue with the handle which probably shows, I started doing it with small extrude and trying to get an angle. Then I realized I could extrude along spline and did that for the rest.
va0Pbl.png

Should I use turbosmooth or not? I noticed it smoothed the whole thing nicely, added plenty of geometry.
Xj9fXl.png

Replies

• Eoq
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Eoq polycounter lvl 8
    The mug looks good, but can't really give you much more advice on it since it's so simple. Just throwing out ideas but, you should try making something like sci-fi panels or props. Those tend to really fun to make and you'll learn alot when it comes to modeling as well :)
  • Ghostscape
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ghostscape polycounter lvl 13