Home Technical Talk

Texturing/Unwraping Humvee-Question

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
iceman30 polycounter lvl 6
Hello again Friends.
I've got little problem with unwraping humvee.And because the many details,it will be complicate to unwrap and tweak each part.Could it be a good idea to use 3d coat for it.I'm still learning but i'm not sure do i can get same result with decals dirts and so on(as PS).I can see 3d coat is awesome but i couldn't find any tutorial about hardsurfaces(cars).To avoid spend all of my time looking for the best decision ,Please i'm asking for help.

Kindly waiting for your respond.

humvee.jpg
Shot at 2012-03-16

Replies

• HAWK12HT
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    HAWK12HT polycounter lvl 12
    Hi after reading your question it feels like you just want to get quick superfragilisticallyfantastic result without spending much time :D. I would advice you to do get down and dirty with unwrapping then work in CS that way you can learn alot compared to shortcuts, which by the way are for super pros who have done their homework before. It actually saddens me when my students and young artists just want to learn super advance stuff without getting the basics first :).

Also can you post wireframes and what your trying to achieve in intended end result, i mean you doing this for game engine or pre rendered.
  • iceman30
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you for the respond HAWK12HT. :0)
    Because i'm learning all from tutorials(not school)I'm little confused.
    I would like someday to become an environment artist(games).And my confusing it comes from
    this..Lets say when i see in some careers page(companys)the perfect candidate need to have
    skills (high/low/texturing..)Ok I really don't know am i right as thinking:If making car
    first i have to make high poly,texture it with AO an then bake it.. then to create low poly