Home Technical Talk

UDK vs CryEngine (latest versions)

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
melviso polycounter lvl 10
I am a total noob when it comes to real time engines and after asking around here about making animations with realtime shaders.I was advised using a game engine would make life easier.
I am into short animation films so I am more interested in the cinematic capability of both of them.So pls,feel free to share your experiences on which has the better engine for creating very realistic looking scenery and in realtime.

You can also check out this thread for more info on what I am going for:
http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=96066

Thanks

Replies

• Ace-Angel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ace-Angel polycounter lvl 12
    I would say in your case, CE since UDK requires you to get really technical with shaders to make them look realistic, while all you need with CE is a couple of maps here and there, it up the Wiki, tweak the Material in the Editor, and bam, done.

Both of them do the same thing, but for the sake of simplicity and lack of headaches in learning shaders at this stage, I would advice CE.
  • passerby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby polycounter lvl 12
    Ace-Angel wrote: »
    I would say in your case, CE since UDK requires you to get really technical with shaders to make them look realistic, while all you need with CE is a couple of maps here and there, it up the Wiki, tweak the Material in the Editor, and bam, done.

Both of them do the same thing, but for the sake of simplicity and lack of headaches in learning shaders at this stage, I would advice CE.

but in udk if you dont want to fiddle with shaders you could easily just make 1 master shader and instance it around with different maps.

still would need to make it but it would be a one time thing, than you can later get more CE like controls for your shaders.
  • Ace-Angel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message