Home Technical Talk

Zbrush mesh extraction prob

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
NAIMA polycounter lvl 14
Hello , since I am new to Zbrush and learning here another prob...

I made those boots , and I realized that it's hard to work on the strings if are a part of the model , so I decided to figure out a way to work on them apart and I get to the extract mesh in the subtool ...

I so extract the selected masked faces ( dunno why it extract the masked parts instead than the opposite ) anyway , I can't work on the mesh and has no previous history of mesh subdivision .... Seems I cannot alterate the mesh if not on the very edges as in the picture and if I try to select a portion of it it select the whole thing excluding the borders....
Why this weird behaviour ? what I am doing wrong?

29310591.jpg

Replies

• cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    Extracting the mask makes more sense to me; you just paint what you want to extract (straps, a shirt, etc), and voila. If it makes more sense to you, you could also extract by current visibility, or by layers.

The extraction will never have a subdivision history. It's resolution will depend on the current subdivision level of the object you extracted it from.

If you extract using a mask, then the result will also have a mask on it, which could be your problem if you're only able to sculpt on the very edges. Be sure to clear it. It also gets created with polygroups, so check for automasking in that regard.
  • NAIMA
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NAIMA polycounter lvl 14
    Damn you are right .... I feel so stupid lol ....:poly127:

You are the GOD of Zbrush you have the patience to answer all my stupid questions :poly145: thanks a lot for that ^^ .....:poly106:
  • NAIMA
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NAIMA polycounter lvl 14