Home General Discussion

Help me create my own course for env concept learning

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
MainManiac polycounter lvl 11
(I have checked the wiki already)

Lately i've been learning to paint (http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=88339 please make sure you compare the first page to the last few posts ;) ) and I've progressed quite a bit. I enjoy painting characters, but like 3d, I never feel like im fully expressing myself and something is missing. I think what im aiming at is I want to be able to concept environments so I can draw complete scenes rather than components to a game which is just a part of a scene.

I remember with characters I studied anatomy quite a bit and it helped me immensely, proportion and all that jazz gave me a great foundation for alot of characters.

What im asking is if youre an environment painter here (hopefully we have some :s) I would absolutely LOVE to know what key areas youd suggest I research. My biggest trouble that seems to be hitting me right now is perspective, I have issues making something appear to be going far back in space, but I would love to learn!

Also if you have any extremely helpful mini-lessons on lighting/shadow studies outdoors or indoors etc id love to see them (other than that big art_tut one, read it 3-4 times)

Note: my main priority right now is getting forms to read. I don't really care about details right now when I can't even get a landscape to have correct scale :(

Thanks!

Replies

• Blaisoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Blaisoid polycounter lvl 7
    ok, some random thoughts:

i know what you mean, i was at that point 2 years ago myself.
    back then i was a part of a mod team already and one day i thought i should give environments a try.

So i just started painting areas.
    my first concepts in perspective were so crappy that i soon switched to painting isometric views.