Home General Discussion

The Game Design Index

Hi all,

I've created a website aimed at complete newbie's to the games design scene- http://www.thegamedesignindex.com/ It's kind of an "idiot's guide" to getting started, with general overviews of the processes behind creating game assets and importing them into an engine etc.

Rather than be a comprehensive guide, this site is meant more as an easy introduction, and as such gives general tutorials on the basics before linking to far more in-depth tutorials on online.

It also directs newcomers toward the free software that is available to get them started, introducing the packages before giving the download link. Coming soon I will be expanding the site to include news articles on the workings of the industry today, as well as a series of articles on the fundamentals of games design.

When I created this website, it was directed towards myself, ten years ago. I had the initial interest in game design, but I found that while there was a wealth of information out there, finding what I needed could be difficult owing to not knowing the specific terms to use, and therefore having no idea where to look. I see this site as the bridge between that gap.

I'd really appreciate any input you may have that could improve the site, thanks.

Oliver

harrisoliver@hotmail.co.uk

Replies

• ericdigital
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ericdigital polycounter lvl 13
    Great idea! I wonder though if design is a bit misleading. Perhaps Game Art or something more clear to our niche would be better as I think most people consider game design the discipline of our excel nerd brethren :p Cool stuff none the less!

edit: after poking around see you have links and things to traditional design as well :)
  • Bibendum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pretty much every introduction to game design/development should begin with Bob Bates analogy about sausage.