Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Robot character model WIP

// current status:

fCxaV.jpg

// Forearm in Unity Web player >>

Hi

I decided to learn some modelling for games and found this great forum. Lot of information about essential things that I have never heard (like normal maps)

Here is my concept, I did it about 2 years a go (for flash game that I will never Finnish).
JkFuP.jpg

This is where I'm now with modelling. I'm not trying model concept exactly, use it more for proportions and tone. I'm using

eOnf2.jpg

I going to make this character about 2000 polygons. I choose that amount because I probably will demo this with Unity and the example project that comes with it (Angry Bots) character has 2000 polys. And if I will make a enviroment for this then I just follow aspects of that project ( texture sizes, polycounts etc ). I'm new to game modelling and Unity, so doing it this way I hope that I will not run any major performance issues.

Now I'm planning to do low poly model with normal maps from that one part in arm. Some might say this is wrong order, I should finish entire model first. But because I'm learning this I probably have to redesign/remodel/rebake many parts again and again. I take this small almost hidden part to get some understanding of low poly models. I think that will help me on how to design more important and visible parts.
Xmukq.jpg

After roughly calculating how many polycons I should use and how much UV space will be used, I think I paid too much attention for small details. Bevel on those three "bolts" will probably bee under pixel size in normal map.

If you have details that are small, few pixels in baked normal map, is it better to leave them out? I think details too small will cause only some "random noise", not any readable form. ( I will see it soon)