Home Technical Talk

blender vs 3ds max unwrapping

a-k-m
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
a-k-m polycounter lvl 5
hello,

I am used to the uv-editor of blender. Now I started with uving in 3ds max and I have a problem.

In blender, when I mark the seams, let's say for a simple cube, and then press unwrap, the unwrapped uv's are just cut where I marked the seams.

In max I can't do this simple task...

Either I pelt-unwrap it for complicated organic material, or I use flatten mapping. But when using flatten mapping I need to stitch all the sides back together again. Even when I did proper seam-marking before it keeps cutting my object's uv's in single parts..

Does someone know what I mean and explain me how to do it properly, just in a simple way like it works in blender?

Thx in advance for help!

Replies

• bgivenb
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bgivenb polycounter lvl 5
    I would like to know this too. I have been using blender for about 3 years, and just this past week I have been learning Max (most companies require it). About 75 percent of my skills carry over, there are a few things I cant find.

First, more advanced UV mapping: seams, project from view, etc.

Second, texture baking (diffuse maps). In blender I could just create a new material with a texture, assign it to a few select faces, and UV map it on a separate UV channel. After I had all my textures unwrapped in different UV channels with different textures, I could just go back to my first UV channel with my neat unwrap and bake a nice diffuse with the info from all he other materials (SUCH a time-saver). If there is a tool like this in max, I would give my first born child for a tutorial (well maybe not, but I'll sure as heck say thanks). :D

Blender is a fine tool; im sad to move on :(
  • respawnrt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    respawnrt polycounter lvl 8
    I hate to be that guy , but did you even read the unwrap section from the manual ?

Peel Mode