Home Technical Talk

What is, and How does this work in 3DS Max

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=2iB_Av5PBhI#t=102s
First, I am somewhat new to texturing, and I have been learning from tutorials about the processes and such on how to make my objects have materials.

But I came across this video where a young man demonstrates how to get very rich textures just by using the rendering options in Blender.

He didn't have to do to much work in making his metal texture come out awesome, and he didn't really do much in photoshop. I want to be able to do this in 3DS Max, where I could create shaders and make metal textures like that, without bothering to do many hours worth of time to create the same thing or worse in Photoshop.

How would I go about doing this in 3DS Max? I don't know what to call it in Google search or Youtube, so if someone could just help me out with my dilema, because I am not exactly a good Photoshop artist. :)

Replies

• renderhjs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    renderhjs sublime tool
    Your text is unreadable, can you fix it?

A good base for many textures is Always a Ambient Occlusion bake.

If you want to be lazy, here are 2 scripts that can make this stuff easier
    http://www.scriptspot.com/3ds-max/scripts/totex-render-to-texture
    http://renderhjs.net/textools/

Maybe do some research on your own, I can already tell you that I have seen more scripts that do some awesome stuff like baking worn edges, chipped edges and lots of other things that might help you rendering metal alike or used materials.
  • AlexLeighton
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    If you want a quick way to generate some nice looking maps, look into using Substances in 3ds Max.