Home Technical Talk

Maya Rigging Help please

Hello there,
I'm new to rigging, and completed this rig, but for some reason every time I move my master controller, my characters neck moves forward way more than the rest of the character (probably 2-3x as far). I can't figure out why, if anyone has any input I'd really appreciate it. The link is to download the .mb file, I'm using Maya 2012 Student Version. Thanks again :)

http://www.mediafire.com/?3duvojrh6y5wyvy

Replies

• Froyok
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Froyok greentooth
    I don't have Maya 2012 so I can't try your file, but maybe your have one of your controller with a scale different than 1 ?
    I know that I got a similar problem like you, fixing the scale (by freezing the scale of controller) solved my problem.
  • MiAlx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MiAlx polycounter lvl 10
    First of all, good job on the rig, keep going! :)

I took a look at your file, unfortunately I didn't/don't have time to take a deep look, but still, this is a rather unclean fix that solves the problem.

The screenshot below shows how to fix the problem step by step:

rigginghowtofixneckanke.jpg

The problem is "double transformation".

What happens is: Lets say an object (a controller in a group for instance) is inside a hierarchy, like in your rig, and has transformation values. When it's parent receives transformation values (for instance in translate z), these values are inherited to the child, making the child (the controller in the group in my example) receive these transformation in addition to its own, so it kind of gets a bigger value than its parent.

This in return makes the child to double transform. In my example it would move further in translate z than its parent.

So, after taking a look at your rig, i saw that a lot of parts of your rig have values (their transformations are not frozen).