Home General Discussion

A Few Questions Concerning the Blizzard Internships

Hi guys, I'm new to the Polycount forum. It's a great site! I'm currently applying for the forthcoming 2012 Blizzard internships in the writing department.

The only thing is, I have a few questions that that are really bugging me:

1) Is it possible to apply to multiple positions? And if so, how far should I adapt my application?

2) When do you generally expect to hear back from the hiring team?

3) Do you guys know what type of questions are asked in the phone interviews?

4) Are there any other tips you know of that could help me out in the this daunting process?

5) For my Creative Writing Portfolio, I've included a 9-page Victorian horror story and a 6-page excerpt from a longer Fantasy story. Do you guys think these are worthwhile, content and lengthwise, for submission and review?

This is all new to me, so any advice or help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you all for your help!

Replies

• Isaiah Sherman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Isaiah Sherman polycounter lvl 14
    Heya, I participated in this last year and also had a phone interview with them. There are others on the board that actually got the internship.

1) As of last year, yes. I applied for 2 concept positions and 2 environment artist positions. I did not tailor my resume / portfolio for each position, but I most definitely tailored the cover letters. I was contacted back for the D3 environment artist internship, out of the 4 I applied for.

2) The whole process took quite a while. You have to think of the thousands, if not tens of thousands, of applications they get for these. Blizzard is a pretty prestigious company that a lot of people dream about working at, even if they have 0 skill and experience. I don't remember what the deadline was, but I think I didn't hear anything back from them until late April or early May