Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Mascot character project

Hello all : )

This is my second foray into character modelling, so yes i'm still a newbie, any and all crits and help are more than welcome. My first character was a low poly soldier model for a class project and as it is holidays i've decided to do some practice, with something a bit different. It is also a way that i can learn some new skills before i finish my second year IE Z-brush, good Normal map baking practices and more about the next gen-character pipeline.

I've chosen to do a mascot i designed for an Anime and video-games convention in my hometown because she's pretty simple for a first shot but still interesting enough.

Here is the concept:

2011mascots_Ayvee_SHEET.jpg

I've made my base in Maya with everything i think i'll need and am going to dive into z-brush in the next few days. I've been using some tutorials to learn the z-brush basics but like i said 'newbie' ha ha I diverted from her face a bit to make it a bit more anime-ish i guess (smaller nose mostly) and the boots are a bit different, she's also got a thinner waist. i also realised how odd her wing thing is in the design (How does it stay up!?) so i'm wondering about that but i might try and do something creative in z-brush,

PC1_1.jpg

I also did a test and practice of her head for experimental purposes which is not at all my final result for the head (Need to actually UV the LP properly, optimise etc), i just wanted to see how the whole process kind of went. (Crazy eyes)

PC1_2.jpg

Anywho as far as specs i am aiming for 13000 tris and 1x 2048 Diff, spec, normal etc. And deadline is before i go back to school so about 3 weeks or so (With a camping trip in the middle ha ha) I also realise she won't be amazing but practice makes perfect!

So yes i will post progress and problems here as i go and i'm looking forward to any feedback!

Rosie

Replies

• ro-zee
    Options
    Offline / Send Message