Home General Discussion

Is this the place for me?

Hello everyone,
I have been looking for a game art forum.
As I look around here I am very inspired by the work I see.
Now i am not employed as an artist. ( looks as most of you are)
I have been a hobbyist about 5 or 6 years. Even though I have a great passion for cg. about 4 months ago I became very interested in game art and want to learn. I just cant seem to get enough modeling, I eat sleep and drink, while thinking about it. Right now I am trying to learn character modeling.
Any way I will get to the point.
I want to know if Polycount is the place for me? would you guys allow me to pick your brain from time to time? I am almost 50 years old, some people say that cg is a young persons thing. Well I don't think so.

so give me some feed back please.

Replies

• Ghostscape
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ghostscape polycounter lvl 13
    Age is just a number.

Post some work in P&P and you'll get feedback. The more feedback you incorporate, the more feedback you'll get on future posts.

Welcome aboard!
  • pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    Welcome!

Just like everything in art - it's never too late to start, and never too early to take good habits :)
    Feel free to post the pieces you have already!

P
  • Vailias
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vailias polycounter lvl 18
    Age doesn't matter. Attitude and work do.

PC tends to be harsh but fair. Less harsh now than it was 10 years ago. You'll get honest critiques, especially if you ask for them.

There's a wealth of information in the technical talk archives as well as the wiki. If you have questions, check the wiki and use the search function on the forums. Most of the newb questions have been asked and answered, but if you can't find what you need to know, feel free to make a new topic.