Home General Discussion

Character Artist using Cintiq.

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Fuse polycounter lvl 18
I am just curious. How many of you character monkeys use Cintiq's regularly these days? Quite a few fellas here have them and since I've always been curious I figure I'd ask.

Anyone used it and ended up going back to a regular Intuos.

Reason I am asking is over the years I've found I prefer larger format tablets so perhaps a jump onto 1:1 cintiq would be a positive upgrade ?

Anyone else in the same boat ?

Replies

• Gav
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Gav quad damage
    I use a Cintiq at home and at work. I first used one when joining Irrational, totally changed my life and encouraged me to get one for home.
  • Vorge
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vorge polycounter lvl 18
    I use one at work and at home as well. I've been using it for almost four years now and really could never go back to a tablet. I never felt comfortable with tablets to begin with, but once I tried a cintiq it completely changed how comfortable I was with digital artwork.
  • skankerzero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I use tablets.

I tried using a Cintiq but couldn't get over the visual disconnect between the pen tip and the photoshop cursor.

Trying one out made me very happy I didn't buy one. Maybe one day, but not right now.
  • PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter
    Im an enviro artist/lighter and have one at work. I find it awesome for doing textures and sculpting stuff in ZB. also comes in handy for doing lighting paintovers, a tablet works good too but I love working directly on the image/model on the screen. all the character artists here at relic have one and they seem to be inseparable from them.
  • Kot_Leopold
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kot_Leopold polycounter lvl 10