Home Technical Talk

The future of asset creation for games

Hi all,

I am currently studying video game art at university. One piece of research that I am doing is looking at the future of asset creation for games.

We all know about current asset creation pipelines and techniques such as modelling, sculpting, texturing (diffuse, normal, AO etc.) but what does the future hold? Unlimited Detail Techology? Using schematics or photo's which the computer can make into a 3D model? Or something more texture based?

Any input or interesting links would be most welcomed.

Thanks for your input.

YJ

Replies

• pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    Well, that's gonna be a short paper :D
  • YestersJam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lol why do you think that? (it' is only a small paper btw)
  • Visceral
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Well to really be able to write a good paper on something like this (future prediction) you should have a basic insight in technology trends over the years.
    Im assuming this is a collage level paper, so where i would start is do some research on what new technology is getting moore and moore popular in the industry.

Since i haven't done this (at all) i can just give you some wild guesses.

Tesselation and heightmaps is a area i think is really intresting, however not alot of games seem to use it and its rather a gimmick than the standard of game making.
    I think it should be however, it dosnt divert that much from the current art pipeline and it could bring the detail up significantly.

However it seems there are alot of technical complications when implomenting and i haven't really seen any of it on the consoles yet. Hence the "gimmick" label.

FYI: Unlimited Detail is a scam.

EDIT: Also i recall seeing like a hour long tech talk with Dice about the tech in Battlefield 3. Might give you some hints on how their lighting works.
  • Gestalt
    Options