Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] Tim Lewis, Environment Artist

Hey everyone, my name is Tim Lewis and I graduated university earlier this year with a focus on environment art. You can find my portfolio here. I’m currently not working in the game industry, but I do the occasional 3-D work in the form of product renders where I am at. While a lot of this work on my site is outdated, I’d appreciate any feedback you can give me and suggestions or tips for any future work. I'd love to work in the game industry one day, but I know that I've got push my skills further. Thanks!

Replies

• mLichy
    Well, I feel if you're going to promote yourself as an Env. Artist, you should have mostly all Env. work. Right now it feels like your showing yourself as a 3D Artist instead. You only really have one env and then a partial one, if that.

If you're not part of a mod team, that would be a good thing to get into. But you have to be careful where you go with that, because you might end up doing all the work, only to get the mod fall apart and have it go to waste. But if you can get a good portfolio piece from it, then that's still useful.

Or, you could take an Env. Art test from online, and do that for another example, or try and re-create a scene from a game you like/that would be challenging/ well known.
  • Alex3d
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex3d polycounter lvl 9
    Hey pretty cool folio.
    I would loose the vases all together, they look really basic :P The uzi and binoculars are your best pieces, now you need to make more art and replace the outdated environments.
    Edit:Ignore my previous statements to prevent any more misunderstanding.
  • mLichy
    http://wireframeworlds.com/

This is more what I mean. Yes it can be props/objects as that's what makes up the Env, but I mean arrange them into an Env, and not just show a crate by itself.